Turkish parliament strips three MPs of immunity

The Turkish Parliament on Thursday approved stripping three of its members of immunity from prosecution. Two HDP MPs and one CHP MP had their parliamentary immunity removed on Thursday.

The affected deputies are HDP (Peoples’ Democratic Party) Hakkari MP and DTK (Democratic Society Congress) co-chair Leyla Güven, HDP Diyarbakır MP Musa Farisoğulları and CHP (Republican People’s Party) Istanbul MP Enis Berberoğlu.

The decision announced at Plenary Session was based on the final court order for prison sentences given for the three deputies. The decision was met with tension and protests.